Monday, August 18, 2008

Church Conference: 1976

The following is a sampling of church conference minutes from 1976:

The Lithia Springs First Baptist Church met in conference on May 12, 1976 with Mr. Harry Harris, Chairman of the Board of Deacons presiding.

The minutes of the last meeting were approved as read. The financial and organizational reports were accepted as information.

Mr. Harris gave a report on the meeting that was held at the Commercial Bank building concerning sewage in the county.

Mr. Harris also reported that the ordination of Gary Green has been called for by the Union Band Baptist Church of Howardstown, Kentucky. Gary has requested that the ordination take place here in his home church, LSFBC, on July 4, 1976. Motion was made, seconded, and approved that Gary Green be ordained here at the church on July 4, 1976.

The Property Committee recommended tha the county be given a right-of-way on our east line for the extension of Winn Drive in exchange for Lucille Avenue on the west side of the building. Motion was made, seconded, and approved that this be granted.

The Nominating Committee recommended that Mr. Larry Palmer be elected to serve as Trustee to fill the vacancy left by the death of Mr. J.B. Williams. Motion was made, seconded, and approved.

The Financial Committee recommended that the following allocations be added to the 1976 budget:

Church Training Special Programs $300.00
Church Staff Study $500.00
Water $350.00

Motion was made, seconded, and approved that this money be allocated.

The Finance Committee recommended that $100.00 per month be put into a tax sheltered pension program for our pastor, Mariou H. Beaver. That the church take out an insurance policy providing disability income for the pastor, should become disabled due to illness or accident, at our annual premium of $254.72. Motion was made, seconded, and approved that this be done.

Deacon’s Emergency Committee: Harry Harris, Leroy Burcham, Tye Kent, Manford Miller

There being no further business, meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Cheryl Meeks, Church Clerk